• Hannah Phillips

Coorong Announces Australia Day Recipients

Coorong District Council, in partnership with the Australia Day Council of South Australia has announced their 2018 Citizen of the Year recipients - Bill and Margaret Jaensch from Tailem Bend, and Andrew Dawes from Meningie.

Described as community role models by locals, Bill and Margaret are entrenched in the Tailem Bend community through their involvement in local sports clubs, youth programs and town beautification projects.

Andrew has often been the backbone of Meningie’s community events and projects, consistently putting his hand up to help out and leading by example with a positive attitude – even during drought periods.

All three are well-known, selfless and caring contributors to their communities.

This year two events have also been recognised by the Council, receiving the 2018 Community Event of the Year award.

Tintinara’s extremely successful Dr Temple Grandin Event held in July 2017 was the product of the entire community coming together to give many people the opportunity to listen to Dr Grandin’s expertise and experiences in animal science and autism.

Meanwhile, Meningie’s Food, Fun and Family Fair is a firm favourite on the local community events calendar, beginning in 2011, the fair has a strong focus on bringing friends and family together.

The Council extends their sincere congratulations to all recipients and look forward to celebrating at events in Tintinara, Meningie and Tailem Bend on Australia Day, 26 January 2018.

13 views0 comments